when people at work force you to eat cake.

I try so very very hard, but it seems every other week at work someone is having some work celebration. Which is fine, lets celebrate ’till the cows come home, but don’t MAKE me eat cake.

Seriously folks.

I’m trying to get back to my pre-wedding healthy lifestyle (and weight), which involves saying “no thanks” to baked goods.

Today I was forced to take a piece of Tiramisu, which I nibbled on and threw in the trash. The day before I said no to Birthday Cake and to Chocolate Donut holes, despite being accosted by my coworkers and them finally leaving the stupid donut on my desk for me to throw away.

Why do people do this? It’s so rude.

Why in the world do you try to force someone to eat something they are saying no to? ESPECIALLY if they are overweight AND saying no to sweets. Like soooo rude! Obviously it is hard enough to say no all on my own, why do people need to make me feel bad?

I should say ” No! Can’t you see I’m fat and I’m trying really hard to not get fatter!”

But I don’t, obviously. I just throw it away once they walk away.

What I don’t understand though, is why people do this? Why do they get so offended? Do they think it’s because I think their dessert is gross? Do they want to feel better about eating it themselves? Are they really that desperate to get rid of all the leftovers?

Needless to say, if you have, or currently guilt people into eating your holiday treats, STOP RIGHT NOW!

All you have to say is “ok” or “good for you” or “no problem” and leave it at that.

Today I counted Calories, which kinda sucks, but is also very enlightening. I’m at 1100 Calories and I feel like I’ve hardly eaten anything today. You could snack your way past 2000 calories EASY! So I have about 350 Calories to play around with for dinner. Fingers crossed.

We walked 3 miles last night, in the dark, to the library. Tonight I’m doing some strength training at home and making a HEALTHY vegetable for tomorrows work Thanksgiving Potluck. Maybe Ill guilt some people into eating it. (:

 

3 thoughts on “when people at work force you to eat cake.

  1. Morgan you just described one of my favorite Seinfeld episodes! Elaine keeps having to celebrate birthdays and events at work and she hates being forced to… Ur living a tv show!

  2. That is so bizarre, I think that they must think you really want it and they are helping you by’making’ you eat it. It is very rude. Too bad at this point you can’t suddenly develop diabetes. I wonder how in sane they would think you are if you send out an email that said “I really appreciate everyone’s generosity but I am really trying to avoid sweets and the insistence that I have some isn’t really supporting my goal” Are your coworkers overweight? If so they are probably doing the whole ‘misery loves company’ “no one likes to drink alone” thing

  3. Thankfully, I work from home, but I totally know what you mean. I don’t think the “pushers” think about how hard it is for those of us (me included) who are striving to make a different path for our health. I wouldn’t, for example, offer a drink to an alcoholic (that’s what my WW leader says all the time). In any case, keep on keeping on! You’re doing a fabulous job.

Leave a Reply

