Not Ready

Today I realized I am just not ready for workout advice.

I guess for me its a hard and personal journey to get into Working Out, and I just can’t handle someone telling me that I’m doing it wrong. Or that I should be doing something else, or more of this, less of that. You know, advice….any of it.

Today on Facebook I made a comment based on a fact I had read (I wont recite it here because it seems to solicit lots of opinions, that I just am not ready to hear) on a walking website. I actually posted it as a positive comment, in hopes to encourage others that walking really is a GREAT way to workout, and that they shouldnt feel like it’s “not enough” or “too wimpy” and that really its awesome! I have to remind myself every day that me walking/jogging 3.5 miles plus a small amount of weight training every day is FREAKING AWESOME! Because before that I did nothing! NOTHING!

Mind you I am a firm believer (and proof) that you can lose a LOT of weight without ever working out. seriously, I lost 75 pounds without EVER doing regular physical fitness. Not that its the BEST way, but its 100% an option, and a good one too. Aint no shame in just focusing on the food, and not the workouts.

At this point in my life I have decided that I would like to add working out to my routine. I think it might help aid me in a bit more weight loss, and might sculpt out areas that (losing 75 pounds in 10 months causes) are pretty soft/saggy. I’m not a gym goer though, I hate the gym. Its HELL ON EARTH in my opinion.  I also don’t do workout videos, or personal trainers or any of that. For me its all mental, and someone telling me that I’m not doing it right is NOT going to help me keep going, it’s just not.

I know there are people out there who love advice on this. Who NEED motivation from others. Who spend hours researching and practicing ways to get ripped. For me I have my daily walk/jog and my little 15 minute strength training thing and that’s good. I’m set.

This evening after reading all of said comments from what I had hoped to be a positive, somehow turned negative Facebook post, I deleted it. I deleted my own voice and the voices of everyone else who want to put their two cents in. Maybe that makes me a bitch, or stupid, or whatever, but I really didn’t want or need that negativity on my wall. I didn’t really feel like I had asked for opinions, and in the end I didn’t want to read them. The second I started feeling shitty or inadequate with what I was doing, I knew that whole post had to go….buh bye. Here in Morgan Land we like to only keep it positive, and only cheer for as much or as little effort as you were able to put in!

So ….

YAY for you if you took the stairs today instead of the elevator.

YAY for you, if you left a few bites of food on your plate at dinner.

YAY for you if you went to the gym.

YAY for you if you parked a little further from the store and walked in.

YAY for you if you skipped the cheese.

YAY for you if you even thought “I need to make some changes” today.

YAY for you if you reached your breaking point.

YAY for you if you finally stepped on the scale.

YAY for you if you carried your baby instead of putting them in a  stroller.

YAY for you if you played outside with your kids.

YAY for you if you felt good about yourself today!

YAY for you if you played a sport today.

YAY for you if you bought more vegetables than normal.

YAY for you if you set a goal.

YAY for you if you made your family a healthy meal.

YAY for you if you did some yoga.

YAY for you if you walked your dog.

YAY to anyone and everyone who made a little more effort today than yesterday. I think your doing awesome!

 

9 thoughts on “Not Ready

  1. Yay for you, Morgan! You have motivated me in so many ways and yet it has been FOREVER since I last saw you (we need to change that by the way)! Seeing how much walking you have been doing gets me off the couch more than you know. Introducing me to the dailymile.com gave me the courage to try running again after two and a half months of back pain. Even after having a really rough start, reading your blog keeps me in the game. It hurts my heart to hear of those “negative nancies” bringing you down on facebook. You are amazing! Thank you for sharing your success, I appreciate you. Love you!

  2. Losing weight and learning to like exercising is hard enough without people raining on your parade! But you are doing so well and you’re inspiring people all over the world not to give up. Positivity rules!

    Thanks for posting the daily workouts, I found them last week and started on Monday as well as going for my longest run without stopping (1.5km!). Winter has begun in NZ so I do them after I go walking or running to warm me up again 🙂

  3. YAY all the way! Walking is the best, Dom and I walk almost every night (like I’m going to run and give myself two black eyes? Hell to the NO) and his parents did too. I’m a firm believer in walking and strength exercises. Because seriously, who wants osteoporosis or a hunch back when they’re 65? I think runners have a big clique/culture and they’re all Super into it, which is fine for them, but they don’t have to go around converting everyone. It’s not religion, okay. I like my knees unscathed.

  4. Morgan- You are an amazing inspiration to so many people!! You have worked your butt off to get where you are today… not only by eating healthy but now making the decision to workout/strength train as well… You have helped teach me about living a healthier lifestyle and for that I am very thankful!! You are an amazing woman and I am very glad to call you my friend!! Love you!!

  5. I do that often. If I put something on my wall, and you don’t have anything nice to say about it, then dont write anything! it pisses me off when people think its okay to make me feel negative. I delete stuff all the time. And I just want to add…. You are an inspiration to a lot of people. Including me. So you go girl!

  6. I hope I didn’t give you any unsolicited advice..I better not since I barely know what I’m doing! I totally think you have to find what you like and can bring yourself do everyday. Runners pee themselves and have bloody nipples so they can suck it! Love you!

  7. Scott often tries to give me workout advice, and I will just say, it doesn’t go well. When you are trying to work towards something, and then someone tells you that you are doing it wrong, it just pisses you off. I know. I said I feel better running then walking. Probably because when I walk, I move at a snails pace. I can’t walk quickly, I get made fun of for it. Seriously. You have to do whatever makes you feel good, and healthy and happy. Making the decision to do anything else is already a victory, because God knows that couch is tempting. I love your daily strength workouts you are posting, and if you are doing 100 sit ups a day soon, I better get off my ass and do them too! Keep on keepin on, and just remember, people only say things because they love you and want the best for you (even if it seems super annoying all the time). At least thats what I tell myself when I start to get frustrated!

Leave a Reply

