Sweat Out the Toxins

I was having lots of icky feelings about a number of things going on in the world today. Since this is not (nor ever will be) a political blog, I will refrain from details. However sometimes it is hard to accept different opinions on things. In my head I of course think I am right, and anyone who I would associate with should feel the same way. Obviously this is not true. Coming from someone who tends to lean pretty severely in one direction on the political scale, I really do feel as I have gotten older that I am more accepting, and more rational when it comes to dealing with contrasting opinions. This week on Facebook, although I kept pretty tight-lipped about things, I felt nothing but frustration for the “friends” who were disagreeing with me. I even found myself arguing with Mr. Gaunt just to get my frustrations out. Not healthy.

So I went and worked out.

I walked down to the baseball diamond and did my 10 laps. I wont lie to you and say I ran them, because I am not physically in shape enough to do much running at all. for the first 4 laps I ran half of the lap and walked half. For the last 5 laps I walk…fast. In total Mr. Gaunt and I calculated that it is just over 3 miles.  I came home feeling hot and sweaty, but a little less bogged down by the world. I blame endorphins. (=

Seriously, thats what the inside of my onion looked like.

I’m feeling really good about the choices I am making. I am down almost 5 pounds since 2 weeks ago, which means only 5 more pounds by the end of May to reach my first goal. Pretty sure I can do that. I have 2 pairs of Capris and 2 pairs of knee-length shorts that I am dying to fit back into by June! The knee-length shorts look kinda like these which are surprisingly flattering, but they really only fit for the first month I owned them, at my lowest weight a year ago. I’m hoping they will be my go to shorts all summer long.

One thought on “Sweat Out the Toxins

  1. I read your blog and from the NW as well…..Hi!
    I just have to say – I’ve been feeling the same way about people who are “friends” on facebook, including family. It has been a rough/frustrating week. I feel like it is my job to help them think more deeply about their opinions but have realized it is impossible.
    A friend shared this quote with me – so I will share with you, hopefully it helps.

    An old man once said . . . There comes a time in life when you walk away from all the drama and people who create it. You surround yourself with people who make you laugh, forget the bad, and focus on the good. So love the people who treat you right, and pray for the ones who don’t. Life is too short to be anything but happy. Falling down is a part of life, getting back up is living.

Leave a Reply

