The Final Countdown

Alright my wedding is less than 5 months away.

Which means, its time to get crazy.

Crazy with weight loss.

When I explained this to Mr. Gaunt he got all concerned that we need to live a healthy lifestyle and blah blah blah….kidding.

Seriously though, I am so pro-healthy lifestyle it’s not even funny. And I plan to live the rest of my life eating healthy. However I’m setting that all aside to be crazy for 5 months.

I know its clichรฉ, believe me. I have spent so much time internally battling whether I should just be fine with how I look, or I should give it my all to look my absolute best for my wedding. Its pretty exausting…in my head.

And I’m sure there are a bunch of girls out there who think that its absurd and disrespectful to myself and all women, but I don’t care. The only person who matters is me (well Mr. Gaunt matters too, but I’m sure he wouldn’t care if I was 500 pounds, So he doesn’t count) and if losing 30 or 40 pounds before my wedding means I can walk down the aisle feeling confident and pretty, than that’s what matters.

So what does this mean? Well it means I’m going on a DIEt. Yup a strict DIEt, for the next 149 days. I’m not counting calories, I’m cutting out foods, and a lot of them. Here are the OK foods:

OK FOODS

-Grilled Chicken

-Lean Ground Turkey

-Chicken Sausage

-Grilled Vegetables (no starchy ones like corn or potatoes, Yams OK)

-Apples, Bananas, and Strawberries (limited to 1 serving a day)

-Whole Grain Toast (limited to 1 serving a day)

-Quinoa & Brown Rice (Limit 1 serving pre day)

-Non Fat Greek Yogurt

-Egg Whites

-Raw Almonds

-Black Beans

-Honey, Cinnamon, and other spices

-Coffee, tea, and water. (allowing 3 Iced Vanilla Lattes a week…lol)

-Oatmeal

-Popcorn

That’s it. SO obviously it’s no cabbage soup diet, but its all low in fat. Here is the no no’s:

NOT OK FOODS

-Eating Out (At least none for a while, maybe I’ll do an occasional eating out after I get a handle on things)

-Cheese (buh bye)

-Chips, Crackers, Pitas chips, trail mix (or any other “snacks”)

-Candy, baked goods, ice cream (anything sweet like that)

-Fried foods

-Sweetened Bevrages

-Alcohol (allowing 3 glasses of wine a week)

-Pasta

-Butter, oil, peanutbutter

-Beef, Pork, Fatty Fish

-Packaged foods

I’m sure there are a million other off limit foods, but you get the idea. It’s gonna be hard, I know this, but it’s what I want to do. And I believe that all though its deprivation, its in a fairly healthy way.

I’m giving myself until the first of May, mostly to clear out the fridge a bit.

I’m asking that my friends and family be supportive and help me resist temptation. Yah know…dont invite me to go out to dinner. Which I know sucks, but it’s also going to be nice on the wallet, and my waist line.

I’m hoping to update you on my progress as I go along.

The goal is 40 pounds by September 24th.

First Goal: 10 Pounds Lost by June 1st!

5 thoughts on “The Final Countdown

  1. Hey Morgan, while I don’t agree with your choice, I do support that it is YOUR choice. So good-luck!

    Also, may I suggest Coconut Oil. It has all sorts of wonderful healing/healthy qualities, smells amazing when you cook with it and tastes pretty darn good too. But most importantly for your cause it is a weight loss aid. It is a saturated fat, but it’s gotten a bad rap. It’s molecular makeup is such that it does not get stored as fat but rather gets immediately used as energy. It can be found in health food stores, yes it is pricy, but worth it. And since it is a saturated fat it can be used for high heat cooking, ie grilling meats and veggies. Look into it if nothing else. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. ug, I totally wrote a comment on here on my phone which obviously didn’t work. I will do my best to duplicate it…
    I support you because I know you are a smart girl and wont do anything to damage your body seeing as it’s the only one you’ll be issued and you need it to grow babies. I would like to lose like ten pounds for my wedding, although I think more for the honeymoon than the wedding itself (bikinis, barf). I did eat a bunch of cake today and then felt really guilty about it…maybe we should text eachother what we eat every day so we will make better choices. Or I need to get back on livestrong. It’s just hard to do when you cook at home. Anywho, good luck! you’re beautiful no matter what ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I’m in this with you!!! This has been week one of my “Morgan and J’s Wedding is REALLY soon!!!!” weight loss goal. I have gained 12 pounds since last summer, which means, I now have a goal of losing 22-32 pounds by your wedding! Ah! We can do this! I’ve lost three pounds this week… we can do it!!! If you need a check in buddy, gimme a text/call/FB message! Love you!

  4. I don’t think it’s crazy or disrespectful, I think we should all strive to be the best we can be, and this includes our looks. I know that even a 2 pound loss can make me feel happy, and really it is all about pleasing yourself and no one else. As for the healthy lifestyle, you are making the best decision of your life ๐Ÿ™‚ You will feel the difference in both your health and your bank account ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. I am fully behind you for this dieting choice! I know from reading your blog that you’re responsible, make good choices, and are very determined, though I believe you won’t take the diet toooo far. Still eat of course! Eat a good number of calories! Exercise will be very effective too.
    Don’t worry about disrespecting yourself as a woman or womankind in general: you want to be confident in your own body, and you know your own limits and how you can be happy.
    Congratulations for your upcoming wedding!!

Leave a Reply

