Spare Bedroom, and why mauve is not cute.

I just finished painting (and photographing) the spare bedroom, which for a TEENY TINY room, took FOR-EV-VER (Sand Lot anyone?).

It all started one day when we were at Home Depot, and their “GREEN” Paint was on clearance for $5 a gallon, apparently no one really wanted eco-friendly paint. However it only came in a select number of colors. There was a lot of pressure to pick a color for the spare room fast, so I went a little crazy and picked Mauve. But not a cute purple Mauve, more like un ugly grandma Brown Pink mauve. I don’t know why, I just did. I don’t pick colors under pressure well.

The bedroom previously was BRIGHT Robin Blue with dark brown (almost olive-y black) trim. Once the mauve went up I immediately hated it. My mom and sister kept saying “When the blue is all gone it will look better” and “when the trim is all white it will look better” well, after almost completing the job we realized…nope…its never gonna look good.

This is not the first time I have painted an entire room only to hate it and re-paint it. In our old house I painted our bedroom Navy after seeing a picture like this however mine room didn’t really look like that, it looked like a dark blue cave. I had a god cry and then Mr. Gaunt convinced me to just suck it up and re paint it, which I did.

So that’s pretty much what went down here too. I scrapped the Mauve and bought a nice gallon of OOPS (a miss-tint that is discounted to $6) Paint at a local paint store. Only problem is that it’s a flat finish which is not my favorite, but its a spare room so I’m not that concerned. In the end I couldn’t be more thrilled with this decision, it looks sooooo much better.

The stripes came at the end, when I got hair up my butt and decided I needed a little pizzaz! Id like to say I measured and spent hours taping off, but that’s just not true. I did tape off, but I eyeballed it, no measuring at all. Shockingly they look pretty even, yay good eyesight!

NOTE: In the “Before” pictures, it looks like a blue/grey wall color, but its way brighter. The most accurate representation of the color is the one of my sister on her knees painting over the bright blue.

As you can see, this was quite the process. I should have primed the trim as well, as it took about a million coats of white to cover the brown. The whole thing was very frustration, so I did it slowly when I had the time. It took me about 3 weeks to finish…lol! It’s going to be a very cute Guest Room/Office/Craft Room.

2 thoughts on “Spare Bedroom, and why mauve is not cute.

  1. Pingback: DIY Herringbone Dresser | For The Love Of Skinny

Leave a Reply

