Bad GENES for good JEANS

My friend Kelli sent me this link on Downsizing/purging clothing. Like the woman in the article I too am a regular purger of clothing. I probably own less than 10 items that are over a year old. I get rid of clothing all the time.

However after I read what she kept it got me thinking about my own wardrobe. She KEPT 10 pairs of jeans. Now I currently own 5 pairs of jeans. I hate all 5 pairs, here is a recap of those 5 pairs:

1 Pair of gap Jeans (used) that fit if I’m standing up, but if I’m sitting down they have about 3 inches of extra room in the back, and are about 3″ too tight in the front. I can only wear them if I have not eaten much, and do not plan to eat later. They are also about 2″ too long, so I cuff them.

1 Pair of mens American Eagle Jeans (used) that fit perfect in the legs, but are about 15 pounds away from fitting in the waist. I have not put them on since I bought them a month ago. They are my goal pants.

1 pair of Torrid Jeans (used) that fit perfect in the waist (except the waist band is thick and does not lay flat when I layer a long shirt over it) and fit very nice in the butt. The legs are a bit too flared for me, and they are DEFINITELY an inch or two too shor, which makes them only ok in flats or flip flops, therefor I rarely wear them in the winter.

1 pair of Old Navy Boot Cut Jeans (new) these are SKINNNNNN tight on the claves. They are the only jeans that fit the front of my waist but not the back (a good 4″ too big, I cant even wear a belt with them as too much fabric bunches in the back) I also hate the color a lot, very BLUE. However I would rather my calves look like sausages then my waist look like a muffin.

1 Pair of Old Navy Bot cut jeans in a size 14 (new) these are also skin tight, like SUPER tight as I am not really a size 14. However they are dark denim, and if I wear spanx and don’t eat they look like nice going-out pants. I havent worn them in at least 9 months.

So there you have it! 5 pairs of jeans that all make me cry almost every time I put them on! Literally, I burst into tears before ripping them off my body…)=

I’m sure you are wondering what other pants I have. I have ONE other pair of pants, that I wear to work. They are a brown/khaki cargo type pant with a “sweat pant” waist band. They fit nicely (although I have caught a glimpse of my ass in the mirror, and they are not too kind to it) but they are super ugly and make me feel extra ugly when I wear them….40 hours a week.

There is so much in the world that is unfair, but the fact that I worked really hard to lose 75 pounds and I still (a) dont fit in a normal size, and (b) do not have a single pair of pants that make me feel good about myself, might be the MOST unfair thing of all.

I should really learn to sew my own pants. Can I just be a hippie and wear skirts and yoga pants year round?

Le sigh.

 

 

One thought on “Bad GENES for good JEANS

  1. Oh Morg, I feel you on this one!! I have no ass to hold up a pair of pants and when I wear a belt it just makes it worse. I have the same problem the pants are to tight up front and hang off me at least a few inches in the back.
    I lost enough weight to fit into an old pair of jeans that I used to love but now they are not really in style being as I haven’t fit into them in the last 2 years. I have a really cute pair of Old Navy boot cut dark jeans that I love but they are still a little to tight in the waist/hips (they are my goal jeans).
    I can’t wait to lose a little more weight and for Chris to get a job so I can go shopping for a few new clothes. Maybe by the time you get here both of those things will have happened and we can go shopping together!

Leave a Reply

