Why I Shop Used!

First off, I’m not one to tell other what to do with their money, but my lord anyone who isn’t shopping at used clothing stores is throwing money out the window! I know it’s not for everyone, some people find it gross, dirty, messy, and just plain annoying to have to dig through piles of acid washed jeans and crop tops. However if you can get past all of that and just focus on the hunt, it is so worth it!

Personally I’m a shopper! Especially clothing! However it’s not uncommon that I buy something and only wear it once, or never. That’s why I don’t waste my money on good clothes, there’s no guarantee I will actually even wear it. The last “nice” thing I bought was a pair of boots for $95, I bought them 2.5 years ago and have worn them TWICE! They are now sitting in a Garage sale bag waiting to be sold for $10. Prior to that I have also purchased a $65 Sweater/duster at the Gap that I wore less than 5 times, a $105 dress that I wore once, and a plethora of fancy underwear that have all gone unworn completely.

For me, shopping at Goodwill, or Savers, or The Salvation Army is not only fun and somewhat therapeutic, buts it’s so practical! I have ZERO guilt if I buy a $3 shirt, wear it once and donate it back. It’s almost like renting clothing. sometimes I find Amazing things that I keep for YEARS! I have a red and blue striped t-shirt that I am wearing in my 6th grade yearbook photo, it’s the softest most memory filled shirt I own, and I bought in 1995 at Value Village for I’m sure less than $2. I also have a number of dresses and sweaters that I would have paid 3 or 4 time what I did because of how much I love them!

Anyways, like I said it’s not for everyone, but for me (besides the occasional trip to Target or the Outlet mall) it’s the only way to go! Last week I went to Savers twice to look for some sweaters and some casual tops, here’s what I found (nothing cost more than $5!):

4 thoughts on “Why I Shop Used!

  1. Totally. Except I think your used clothing store beats the pants of mine. I have to hunt hard for things that are only half as nice as this stuff!

  2. Way cute stuff!! I think I’m inspired. The two used clothing stores that I can think of off the top of my head also happen to be charity shops for two very good causes. One is called “Out of the Closet” and donates too HIV/AIDS research. The other is called “Crossroads” and donates to a program that helps ex-cons get employment and move on with their lives. Thanks for the inspiration as always Morgan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

