Change.

So after long talks with everyone we know, and even longer talks with each other, Mr. Gaunt and I have officially decided to move to Washington in April. Nine months away. This has been a very long drawn out decision, and I am so happy that we are both finally on the same page and both very much committed to this decision. While it was definitely a hard one for Mr. Gaunt (who is from Colorado) he is standing by his word and promises to look forward to this change/adventure with an open mind.

It is undecided where in Washington we will be moving (hopefully Olympia or Bellingham) it all depends on jobs. Speaking of jobs, we will both probably transfer within our company, just to get started and then decided from there about school and other such interests.

The reason we are waiting till April is financial. In the next 9 months we will get two bonuses at work (probably around $1100 in total) and our tax returns. This money will be needed to rent moving vans and either rent a new place or put our stuff in storage until we can find a new place. We have a few options of people we could crash with during the buffer time of moving and finding housing if need be. We are also planning a cruise in November/December for Mr. Gaunt’s 30th Birthday, so we can’t be moving during the same time.

“Any change, even a change for the better, is always accompanied by drawbacks and discomforts.”

I know this move will be hard on some people, and for those that need a better explanation for why we are moving, I give you this: We just want to live life to its fullest potential. We want to experience new things and take adventure while we are still young. Yes I have ulterior motives being that all of my family is in Washington, but together this will be a great life change. I want Mr. Gaunt to see another part of the country and to get a chance to really see how I was raised and the kind of person I really am in my own environment. I’m also just not ready to settle down and say “this is my life, in Colorado, forever.” I personally love moving, I love change, I love the excitement of something new. I have given Mr. Gaunt every opportunity to back down, to let me go first, to date long-distance, but he wants to come to. He is a grown man, and like our therapist always says “He is too big for you to drag him there. If he didn’t want to go, he wouldn’t go” And so we will go together.

Of course there are lots of things and people we will miss. This decision is not easy, and does not come without loss. sometimes in order to grow you have to leave things behind. We will of course visit lots and encourage all to visit us. And like I told Mr. Gaunt, this is just a stepping stone, if it doesn’t work out we aren’t stuck. We could always move back.

We are going to Washington in 2 weeks for a week long vacation. It will be a very exciting trip as I will be taking Mr. Gaunt to the island I vacationed as a child. To really experience washington beaches and woods. We will also spend a good day in Olympia to feel it out and see if its a place we might like to be. Lastly Mr. Gaunt will get a change to meet my extended family for the first time and see what family means to me.

When we get back the planning will begin. We will need to beef up our savings account and slim down on belongings. For the next nine months its my goal to really clean out what we don’t need and to not purchase anything new. I want to save birthdays and christmas for our cruise and other such adventures and less on buying things. The less we have to move the better. We will also need to start looking into jobs and housing when the time is nearer. It will be a fun 9 months, one that I am going to try to make the most of.

So please stand behind us, if nothing else simply because you care about us. Please do not make this any harder than it already is. We love each other very much and plan to make a life together, this is just a stop along the way.

For everything you have missed, you have gained something else, and for everything you gain, you lose something else.



7 thoughts on “Change.

  1. so crazy, of course I never think about really anyone opposing this move, I think it’s a great idea! I hope you do move to Oly of course, but that is just me being selfish. Can’t wait to see you guys and show you the wonderfulness that is Olympia!

  2. Morgan- I’m so excited for you guys to experience something new together!! I can’t wait to have you close by wether it is Bellingham or Olympia!! If you guys need any help with anything, apt hunting, job finding… don’t be afraid to ask Chris and I are more than willing to help you on your new adventure. Can’t wait to see you in just a few short weeks… Does J mt bike at all? Chris was wanting to know cause he’s been going a lot lately and thought maybe he might want to go one night after work or something. See you soon!!

  3. I am in the midst of launching a new handmade adventure making bridal silk floral hairpieces…I could see it leading to other wedding planning business endeavors, etc. If you ever venture to Portland we should chat! Welcome back to the NW, he will love it 🙂

  4. Wow, what a big step! Let me know if I can help with anything- unpacking, looking for places, etc. And Coral and I have a guest bedroom if you ever need a place to crash 🙂

  5. Pingback: 2010 in REVIEW « For The Love Of Skinny

Leave a Reply

