Tie-Dye Cupcakes

Ms. G turned 60 last month, so we threw her a big Sweet Sixty – 1960’s Themed Party on Saturday! It turned out great, everyone in costume with fun decorations and retro food! I might do a post later with pics. I volunteered to make her cake (which I switched to Cupcakes because they are much easier to serve) and new I wanted to make a Tie-Dye Cake (some call it a rainbow cake, but we’re doing the 60’s here) that I have seen floating around the web.

The Cupcakes are actually pretty easy to make, and SOOO cool to eat! They do take a fair amount of time, and dishes, but not too much talent.

I bought basic Yellow Cupcake Mix (I think Duncan Hines, but anything will do) and mixed it up per box instructions. You could make your own cake batter too, it works the same. After your batter is all mixed, divide it evenly into 6 small bowls (RED, ORANGE, YELLOW, GREEN, BLUE, PURPLE) I also used 6 disposable spoons to save on cleaning.

To dye your batter you need a high quality Food Coloring. I have always like Wilton’s Icing Colors, they are slightly more expensive but WAY worth it. I got mine at Michael’s Crafts. Start with a small amount, stir in, and add more until you get the colors you want. The Brighter the Better!

You will need to use cupcake liners for this project and have some napkins ready for dripping. To get the layered look, I suggest putting your bowls in order of the rainbow. You will spoon about a tablespoon (just enough to cover the bottom) of the first color into the bottom of each liner. Then move onto the next color, and spoon that color on top of the previous one. Continue with each color. This does NOT need to be perfect. Be aware of how much you are putting into each liner, you don’t want to overfill or not have room for all the colors.

At the end I made a few ugly mix ones with the last bits of color, they turned out fun too.

Then you just bake as usual. Let cool. Frost. Sprinkle. Done!

You can also make a whole cake like this too. Here is the directions for that.

24 thoughts on “Tie-Dye Cupcakes

  1. I made these for St. Patrick’s Day. Aren’t they so fun? I love your close-up with the frosting and sugar sprinkles.

  2. Morgan, what a great idea. And besides all that, also your great weight loss. Our daughter in law has been on diet and has lost 70 pounds in the last year, with another 40 or so to go. Basically doing exactly what you are doing. Hats off to you.

  3. I love your photos and clear instructions. These are the most adorable cupcakes I have seen and I know some grandchildren who are going to be surprised and delighted when they bite into them. Thanks for taking the time to show us how to make them and for brightening my morning with such gorgeous photos.

  4. These look FABULOUS! After a long stressful week of marking (I’m a teacher) I intend to bake up a batch this weekend to test out my new food colouring paste that I purchased recently from William-Sonoma! I only hope they turn out as lovely as yours did!

  5. This is a great idea!
    I’ve seen the rainbow cake around the interwebs, and it looks intimidating — this, on the other hand, looks much easier and more approachable! Yay for cupcakes! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Here goes nothing. | onewholegirlonamission

  7. Pingback: recipe tie dyed cupcake photo | My Best Pics

  8. amazing! i absolutely fell in love with this the second i saw it.
    I am currently waiting for my tie dye cupcakes to be done cooking!
    thanks!

  9. I love this idea ALOT. Thanks for the idea for my dad’s 70th Disco Party. It’s gonna be a Tie Dye theme. These cup cakes are gonna be the talk of the town and the hit of my dads party. I can’t wait!

  10. i love this im going to do it for my daughters 6th bday party!! we made tie dye t-shirts for all the kids! I am going to do them in ice cream cones to put a fun twist on them as well!!

  11. Very cute! I’m so curious about the second-to-last picture. What are the cute flowers on top made of? Is that something edible? These always look so mysterious to me, i’m sure that when i try, all my colors will blend and i’ll just have such a mess 😀

  12. Thanks for the tips! I just made a batch & they turned out GREAT! Im taking these to a music jam tonight w/ some of my old (?) hippie friends. And next week my neice is coming to visit for her 13th birthday & I told her we have a surprise project to do together. I know she’s going to love making them!!!!!

Leave a Reply

