Trial and Error: Whole Wheat Vegan Cake

So I learned today that you really can’t just “wing it” when it comes to baking. I’m a big fan of making recipes up on the spot or substituting when I don’t have what they ask for. With baking this often results in a big FLAT cake…lol!

I searched around a bit for a Whole Wheat Cake, still working on not making anything with WHITE flour. I found two recipes that looked good. This Sour Cream Coffee Cake sounded good (using Whole Wheat Flour, as well as this Whole Wheat Walnut Coffee Cake. I’ve also recently been a little obsessed with Alicia Silverstone’s Website The Kind Life and her take on eating Vegan. So I thought I could just combine some recipes and make a cake vegan…lol…it turned out…interesting.

Here is what I did:

Ingredients

  • 1/4  cup  packed brown sugar
  • 1  teaspoons  ground cinnamon
  • 1  cup  granulated sugar (although to do it again I would only use 1/2 cup)
  • 1/4  cup Earth Balance (vegan butter)
  • 2/3 cup Unsweetened Organic Applesauce
  • 1  cup  Vegan Sour cream
  • 1  teaspoon  vanilla extract
  • 1 3/4  cups Whole Wheat flour
  • 1  teaspoon  baking powder
  • 1 small apple diced small
  • Cooking spray

Preparation

Preheat oven to 350°.

Combine first 2 ingredients; set aside.

Place granulated sugar and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well-blended (about 5 minutes). Add Apple Sauce and Apples, beating well after each addition. Beat in sour cream and vanilla. Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, baking powder, stirring well with a whisk. Gradually add flour mixture to sugar mixture; beat well. Pour into sprayed round pan, sprinkle brown sugar and cinnamon mixture.

Bake at 350° for 45 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool the cake on a wire rack.

Optional lemon Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar
2 teaspoons lemon juice
2 to 3 tablespoons water or milk

Pour on top of cooling cake, add fresh sliced strawberries.

___________________________

In the end both Mr. Gaunt and I thought this tasted good, but it didn’t really rise. It would have been nice if it had been thicker and fluffier. The whole Wheat Flour gives it a very wheaty taste, I liked it. I will have to keep trying this to see if I can’t find a better recipe…err…a REAL recipe…lol!

In better news, we won our softball game! I kinda pulled my groin so that sucks. I just keep hurting myself, oh well. Hoping to take it easier tomorrow at work, I busted my ass today. Oh and I have Easter pics to show you too! Soon enough.

2 thoughts on “Trial and Error: Whole Wheat Vegan Cake

  1. Your food shots are gorgeous, even if the cake didn’t turn out as planned. Baked goods are harder at this altitude and measurements are more important when baking, which I why I don’t like baking so much. I have some books on it, if you want to borrow them.

Leave a Reply

