You Say You Wanna Start a Revolution?

Ok who watched the premier of Jamie Oliver’s: Food Revolution last night???!!!!

I had planned to record it on DVR and watch it today, but I got sucked in and ended up staying up WAY too late, especially since I had to get up at 3:30am! Thats how good it was!

Incase you don’t have TV or havent seen the commercials: Basically Jamie Oliver, aka The Naked Chef  is making a documentary/tv program about the food we eat, mostly American school children and the GARBAGE they are fed.  The shows takes Jamie to Huntington WV (recently names the UN-HEALTHIEST city in the US) where he attempts to give the town and schools a food makeover. He shows what the kids are being fed (Pizza and Strawberry milk for BREAKFAST!) in the schools, what the families are eating at home (Microwaved, Deep-Fried, Artificial GARBAGE!) and tries to show the people where they are going wrong, what will happen if they continue to do this, and how they can change.

The school part is the most fascinating. If it’s not the mean lunch ladies bashing his Organic fresh chicken and salads, it’s the school board making him jump through hoops just so he can serve the kids some brown rice! Even when he finally does get to make the school a healthy lunch, the kids wont eat it. Throwing full plates of food, whole apples, and ALL veggies into the trash! It’s so sad. At one point the kids are given a choice of Pizza or Grilled Chicken with brown rice and salad, and of course they chose pizza, that’s the same shit they eat at home! The kids also get a choice between Strawberry, Chocolate, or 2% milk. Of course none of them chose 2%. Why in the world are they giving kids that choice???WHY!

I’m really stoked to keep watching it. Jamie seems so passionate about this (even crying at the end) and makes it known that although he wishes adults would feed themselves properly, how in the world is it acceptable to poison our children like this? It should be illegal! It is slowly killing them! This will be the first generation that is expected to live shorter lives than their parents!

People want to go protest at Abortion Clinics? Go protest outside a freaking McDonald’s! They are killing your kids too! (sorry got mildly political there, my bad) Here is a little message from Jamie:

I believe that every child in America has the right to fresh, nutritious school meals, and that every family deserves real, honest, wholesome food. Too many people are being affected by what they eat. It’s time for a national revolution. America needs to stand up for better food!

You live in an amazing country full of inspirational people and you have the power to change things. With your help, we can get better food into homes, schools and communities all over America and give your kids a better future.

Sign the petition to save America’s cooking skills and improve school food. It could be the most important thing you ever do for your family. America’s health needs you now!”

And if you don’t have TV you can watch the entire episode here!

Last week on Facebook I posted the link to a womans blog I saw on Yahoo Health. She is an elementary school teacher who has vowed to eat school lunches for the entire 2010 year. She posts pictures of what she eats and talks about how it’s affecting her health. She also has great guest bloggers sharing their feelings on school lunches. One teacher shares a really inspiring story about his year teaching in Japan and how the children eat there, it’s very cool.

So point being you should not only be watching this show, but also watching what your kids eat at school. For real. Mr. Gaunt and I currently do not have kids, although we do want them. I feel very joyous that we are learning now the skills to feed and teach our children about proper health. This could not be more important. I know money is always tight and time is precious, but take the time to feed your babies right!

And if you need any assistance there are blogs galore out there on getting kids to eat healthy. Here are just a few good ones:

Super Healthy Kids – A mom who is focused on bringing her children up eating healthy! She post Weekly Menus, recipes, product reviews, coupons, making food fun, and kids fitness activities! And she has downloads of fun “Healthy Food” coloring pages, I want to print them out and color them with Mr. Gaunt!

-Vegan Family Dinners – Lots of yummy Vegan recipes (with pictures) for the whole family!

-Gluten Free Vegan Fam – Great if your Gluten intolerant and Vegan! Lots of product reviews too!

The Gracious Pantry – Clean Eating for the Whole Family. Even a tab for Clean Eating kids

Please let me know what you think about this! There are a few causes in the world that really grab my heart and make me want to help make a change, this in one of them. Would love comments.

3 thoughts on “You Say You Wanna Start a Revolution?

  1. Hmm I may have to watch the show. I have a child in elementary school and I make him lunch everyday. Around maybe 2nd grade he came home and told me the food at school was nasty and made his stomach feel weird and could I make him a home lunch. He is now in the 4th grade and eats a lunch that I make him on a daily basis.

    It’s usually a turkey sandwich on whole wheat, a small side salad and fruit. Sometimes he may have a little packet of fruit snacks or a bag of chips. What’s funny at his school is that he says all his friends say they wish they could eat his lunch.

    It saddens me that parents/adults would rather have their children eat this nasty greasy food instead of monitoring what their children put into their bodies.

    I grew up in a house where we ate a home cooked (and well balanced) meal every night. So when I became head of my own household it only seemed normal. I know quite a few people though who eat out on a regular basis. Hopefully this show will teach people the correct way to eat or at least give them the knowledge to change.

  2. Thanks for the link and great job on your weight loss!

    I also loved the Jamie Oliver show! I can’t wait until the next episode. I especially couldn’t get over the fact that they MADE him put bread out “Because it was policy”, although they were already offering brown rice. It HAD to be bREAD! Wow!
    My opinion on school lunch: Unfortunately, the regulations to provide adequate calories, vitamins and nutrients are met by by the schools through processing and fortifying the foods after the fact. So, while they are meeting the RDA requirements, the food is no longer FOOD. I wish there could be less regulation from “officials” beyond saying the food has to be fresh and whole, and local if we had the resources.

    So frustrating. I was told when I approached the Department of Health about this there was nothing I could change!

  3. Now that I have watched the first two episodes of the show, I feel I can comment. I applaud Jamie’s commitment to the health of our nation’s children. Being a teacher, I can attest to the miserable food habits of kids in the nation’s schools and the waste is stunning, when the lunch hour is over. Whenever I was in the cafeteria, I notice that kid’s raise their hand when they are ‘done’, waiting to be dismissed. No one tells them they have to eat more (I did tho’) and the kids line up at the trash cans to throw out most of their lunch!! I don’t think we can impact what the kids eat at home, unless we can educate them about proper eating while they are in school with us. The USDA guidelines must be changed first, so that the bad, processed food is no longer offered to students. Then something has to change and kids must be urged to eat more of the food that is put in front of them. And finally, more $$ has to be used to buy fresh food for the school systems in this country. Why can’t people see that this is a health issue and is just as important as the health care reform that is going on right now? I am heartened by Obama’s new legislation that requires calorie counts on all fast food restaurants and vending machines. As Jamie said, this is a matter of life and death! I’m really looking forward to watching new episodes as he tackles this problem across the US.

Leave a Reply

