Look What Was Left On My Doors Step…

Ok I don’t really have a door step, more just a hallway. Needless to say when I got home from work this was waiting for me.. I was actually nervous on my way home thinking about if I would be pleased with my purchase. In case you didn’t know I have a huge hatred for excess packaging. I think it stems from my mom refusing to buy us Squeeze-it Fruit drinks because they were garbage individually packaged in a plastic bottled wrapped in a cardboard surround and then shrink-wrapped together. I can hear her saying it now “It’s just a ridiculous amount of packaging!” ha! I’m not even that environmentally conscious, this is more about space. I dont want to fill up half may garbage can 5 seconds after I put in a new bag. It’s obnoxious and insulting. I dont want your damn packages! I have even gone to using re-usable grocery bags because I was sick of the giant bag of bags under my sink.

What was I talking about? Oh yeah my worry that my Door to Door Organics box would be filled with excess packaging. Have you purchased apples at Costco recently? They are wrapped in a ridiculous amount of hard plastic…WTF?! Anyway I was VERY pleased when I opened my box and found only one of those cardboard fruit trays, and that’s it! Also DTDO has a great recycling program, this is taken directly from their website:

“Every box, bag, ice pack, piece of paper, and most other non-edibles that we send you will be picked up from your house at your next scheduled delivery. Firstly, we will reuse any items that have certain qualities, like our cardboard boxes. There are also items like the large plastic bags that cannot be reused for health reasons, and we actually us Eco-Cycle to pick these up and have them turned into durable decking.”

How rad is that! I love this company more and more! Ok onto the goods I got this week. As a reminder I spent $22 this week on this box (remember its Organic which is slightly more expensive). Now I have yet to do an actual price comparison (which I do think I will do) but the convenience and variety and quality of this product really seem worth it.

In case you were wondering (I was) the veggies were all crisp and fresh looking (the carrots still had dirt on them…love that!) and the ripeness of the fruit (I was also wondering this) is about two days away. Although it would have been nice to bite into a kiwi, I’m glad that they wont rot tomorrow. Also it gives me a day or two to decide what to do with them. Overall I’m very pleased with this all so far.

One thought on “Look What Was Left On My Doors Step…

  1. glad it worked out well for you. the lady i worked with while student teaching did the box every two weeks with surprise vegetables and fruits, and was challenged to find ways to use them.

Leave a Reply

