Door to Door Organics!

So I’m not sure if I have mentioned it on here, but I really wanted to do a CSA box this summer (in case you don’t want to click that link, a CSA box is when you pay around $400 in early spring to a local farm and you get a delivery every week of their produce) but I had a lot of questions and concerns about the quantity and variety of my food. We were going to split on with Ms. G, and we still may but until then I found something pretty darn sweet.

Its called Door to Door Organics and they are based out of Colorado, Kansas City, Michigan, and some smaller states on the east coast. Basically what you do is purchase a WEEKLY or BI-WEEKLY produce box and you get a mix of organic local produce (whatever’s in season) and some imported stuff (whatever’s not in season). The best part is you only pay AFTER you get your box of goods, and they send you an email the week before spelling out exactly what you will get in your box. They also have an option to substitute out items, add more items (like Artichokes were $1.85 this week extra) and make a list of I LOVE and I DONT LOVE so they customize it for you.

I’m getting the Bitty-Box ($22.66), and my first box will be delivered to my house on Wednesday, and it will include the following:

1 lb Zucchini
1 lb Yams
1 ea. Sweet Baby Broccoli
1 ea. Red Leaf Lettuce
1 ea. Carrots with Tops
2 ea. Kiwi
2 ea. Fuji Apples
3 ea. Blood Oranges
2 ea. Bartlett Pears
1 ea. Avocado

I love that you get just one or two of each item. This will definitely reduce waste in our house. We can also at any time increase the size of our order. It’s all very user friendly, where the CSA box wasn’t so much.

We are trying to cut our grocery bill back to $65 a week, I buy a fair amount of organic food as well as some other pricey items (fresh fruit, nuts) but our bill was a little through the roof. So I’ve decided to give you all a SUNDAY SHOPPING update to break down what I bought and what I spent. Im also really going to try to shop bargains while staying healthy.  Also meal planning is really going to be a must. This is going to be a challenge!

Oh and this is a great list on why you should go organic for produce

I leave you with a sweet picture of my little Liam….love him!

One thought on “Door to Door Organics!

  1. That looks like a really good deal – now I’ll just have to get my act together and check it out for myself.

    And that little face is just the cutest! I’m going to have to show that one to the girls on FB.

Leave a Reply

