Not Quite Like Mom’s

My mom makes the most amazing Caesar Salad in the world. I’m serious, shes mildly famous for her Caesar Salad, well at least among us who have had hit. Growing up I bet we had Caesar salad at least 2 or 3 times a month, especially in the summer months when we would BBQ. The recipe she used of course entailed real mayonnaise and oil and other good secret stuff that I don’t really eat these days, not that I would pass up her Caesar Salad if she was here to make it, but I wouldn’t make my own. Besides just a regular big Caesar salad, we also often made Chicken Caesar Wraps (especially with Spinach or sun-dried tomato Tortillas…drool) that were so easy and yummy. I also don’t really eat Tortillas (did you know there are 300 calories and 9 grams of fat in a Chipotle Tortilla alone!) these days so the wraps are out, but I still wanted a Chicken Caesar Salad. So we made some!

First before I tell you what we used, here are some SCARY facts on Chicken Caesar Salads from restaurants:

Red Robin Chicken Caesar Salad Wrap

Chili's Chicken Caesar Salad

Olive Garden Chicken Caesar Salad

So yeah umm…you might as well eat a giant plate of Alfredo than these poor excuses for a salad!

The Caesar salad I made tonight was the following:

-Lettuce

-Home made Croutons (I cut up a Sandwich Thin and grilled it in I Cant Believe Its Not Butter until they are crispy)

-Chicken Breast (I used a Rotisserie Chicken from Costco

Weight Watchers Caesar Salad Dressing (I added three big Tablespoons of Fat Free Mayo to make it creamy)

Thats it! It was really pretty good, Mr. Gaunt LOVED it which always makes me happy, and it’s not a diet buster! Hoorah!

One thought on “Not Quite Like Mom’s

  1. I LOVE ceasar salad! I used to eat it all the time. And ceasar wraps… mmmm, yum. Before I realized just how bad they were, that was pretty much my staple eating-out food. I just assumed, chicken? Lettuce? Yeah, this is totally healthy. Your post just made me realize I haven’t had one in a looong time… 🙂

Leave a Reply

