Eggplant Turkey Lasagana

As a kid I HATED lasagna, except the kind from Cascade Pizza (drool) I’ve never been a huge marinara fan, or Ricotta for that matter. Lately though I had kind of been craving it! Especially one with veggies in it! So I bought Whole Wheat Lasagna noodles a few weeks ago and Part Skim Ricotta cheese and finally got around to making it tonight.

I was originally going to go off this recipe from Weight Watchers, but didn’t have all the ingredients, so I made up my own. We had a friend over tonight and both him and Mr. Gaunt LOVED this, and I felt good serving it to them!

INGREDIENTS:

9 Whole Wheat Lasagna Noodles (mine fell apart, there must be an art to cooking them?)

1 cup part Skim Ricotta Cheese (note: it’s by sour cream not cheese in the store)

1/2 Cup Parmesan

1 Can Stewed tomatoes

1 Can diced tomatoes

1 Can tomato paste (the little can)

1 pound Extra Lean ground beef (I cooked mine a few days in advance)

1 small onion

1 Tablespoon minced garlic

1 Eggplant (for future plans I would do two eggplants)

1 zucchini (I didn’t have this but I wish I had, so I’m telling you to do it)

DIRECTIONS:

********PREHEAT OVEN TO 400**********

-Boil Noodles (again I am no expert on this)

-Cook Turkey, set aside.

-Dice the onion and saute it with olive oil and the garlic.

-Mix all the tomato cans into a big bowl, add the sauted onions and garlic.

-Peel and cut eggplant into 1/4″  round slices. Do the same to the Zucc (only you dont need to peel it)

-Using the same pan from sauteing the Onions and garlic, add a bit more olive oil and brown the Eggplant and Zucchini on each side. Set aside on a paper towel to soak up any extra oil.

-Drain pasta

-In a large glass casserole dish layer the following:

-one layer of 3 noodles

-thin layer of ricotta

-thick layer of your tomato sauce mixture

-sprinkle half the ground turkey

-1/2 your Eggplant and Zucc slices

REPEAT!

Then place the last three noodles on top, add the last of the sauce, sprinkle top with parmesan.

Place in oven and bake for 40 minutes. Let cool for 5-10 minutes and serve!

The whole thing was very easy, and can be modified to your liking (less sauce, more cheese, more veggies, etc) I will definitely make this again!

Leave a Reply

