Soups!

Vegan Potato Soup

Vegan Potato Soup

With the weather getting colder I really would like to try some new soup recipes. I was talking to my mom today and she has been making soups for Honeymoon (her work) and I want to make some yummy ones for us too! Plus you can often freeze them and save them for lunch. Oh and I HATE 90% of all canned soups so home made is better.

Anyways here is a list of soups I would like to try soon:

-Vegan Mexican Pumpkin Soup

-Easy Vegan Potato Soup

-Weight Watchers Tortilla Soup

-Weight Watchers French Onion Soup

Im sure Ill think of more, but making lists like this helps me store recipes and make a game plan for meals. Ill of course post anything I make. Do you have any fave soup recipes? Please share!

3 thoughts on “Soups!

  1. Mmmm… gonna try the pumpkin one. Root veggies are great for soup coz they give the illussion of creaminess w/out the actual cream. I came up with this soup while in England. I call it English Root Soup. Consists of:

    Accorn Squash (only did this version once coz it was a pain to cut off all the rind)
    Sweet Potatos
    Regular Potatos (Whatever variety you prefer, skin on or off)
    Carrots
    Onions (Usually used white or yellow)
    Brocoli & Stilton Soup mix (which you can really only find in England)
    or fresh Parmeson Cheese
    Spices as you like: I used various combos of curry, salt, thai spice, garlic, jerk spice & pepper
    Sometimes I even put chopped up chili peppers in the soup

    Depending on how much you want to make will determine how many and how big of vegetables to get. I usually made enough to feed 5-6 people so I would use:

    3 medium or 2 large Sweet Potatoes
    2 medium or 1 large Potato
    3-4 6″ carrots
    1 medium onion
    1/4 cup Parmesan

    I haven’t tried it with pumpkin but I bet that would go great with it as well.

    Chop everything up into bite size pieces, put it all together in a pot, fill it with water to just cover everything & then boil the heck out of it. Add spices as it boils. When everything is nice & soft mash it up & add the soup mix or parmesan.

    It’s yummy & very filling, my flatmates loved when I made it & there was rarely leftovers. My Polish flatmate even had me write the recipe down & took home packets of the soup mix so she could make it back in Poland.

Leave a Reply

