Stuffed Acorn Squash

Umm this might be A. the best thing I have ever made, and B. The best thing I have eaten in a long time. Yum! I got the idea when I searched “acorn squash” over on Food Gawker (yes the best website EVER!) The recipe is roughly based off of this recipe, edited a bit to what I had in the house.

The best thing I discovered was microwaving the acorn (YAY for microwaves!) you basically cut it in half, scrape out the seeds, spray with pam, splash with a little garlic salt. Then you put the halves in a microwave safe dish and cover with plastic wrap, nuke for 8 minutes. Done!

In the mean time you wanna make your rice. This can be any kind you like, Quinoa, brown rice, microwaved or regular. mine was a Wild Rice and Brown Rice mix that unfortunately took about 60 minutes to cook, oh well.

DSC04500

While rice is cooking I sauted the following: Onion, Garlic, Olive Oil, Turkey Sausage, and peppers.

DSC04502

DSC04508

When the rice is done you mix it in with your sauted mixture. Then pack the rice mixture into your Acorn squash, fill it overflowing! Then put a few slices of mozzarella on top and broil at 500 for 6 minutes (or until crispy on top).

DSC04511

DSC04510

Tada!

4 thoughts on “Stuffed Acorn Squash

  1. Ooh, I love figuring out what things I can microwave and still have them taste good! Squash makes sense – I’ve done it with sweet potatoes and to me they’re really similar.

Leave a Reply

