EATure THREE: ww eggplant parmesan

Well its been 5 days since I bought my eggplant and I FINALLY got up the motivation to make it! I was going to use a recipe I found on my new favorite blog FatFreeVegan but since last week I SUCKED in my weight losing I decided to stick to WW friendly meals, and even though FFV gives pretty healthy meals its not really very FF, mostly she just avoids using oil. So I found this recipe on weightwatcher.com:

Ready to go into the oven!

Ready to go into the oven!

All crispy!

All crispy!

Yummy Layers!

Yummy Layers!

All gone!

All gone!

Its 4points per serving, but I added extra Parmesan to encourage Mr. Gaunt to eat it (he still thought it was gross but apparently he hates Eggplant) so Id say 5 points per serving. I have never eaten Eggplant let alone Eggplant Parmesan and OH MY GOD! SO YUMMY! I wanted to eat the entire thing! Maybe Im just an amazing cook! ha! Anyways the only substitutes I made were that I used Egg Beaters instead of egg whites and I made my own breadcrumbs from low point bread. I also used regular Parmesan and Spaghetti sauce with added stewed tomatoes. The recipe says to cook for 10 minutes but I cooked it for 20 to make it crispy. Im gonna eat this for every meal until its gone!

Ingredients

1 spray(s) cooking spray
1/3 cup(s) seasoned bread crumbs, Italian-style
1 tbsp grated Parmesan cheese
1 tsp Italian seasoning
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1 medium raw eggplant
2 large egg white(s), lightly beaten
1 1/2 cup(s) canned tomato sauce
1/2 cup(s) part-skim mozzarella cheese, shredded

Instructions

  • Preheat oven to 350°F. Coat a 9 X 13-inch baking dish with cooking spray; set aside.
  • Combine bread crumbs, Parmesan cheese, Italian seasoning and garlic powder in a medium-size bowl; set aside. Remove skin from eggplant and trim off ends; slice eggplant into 1/2-inch-thick slices.
  • Dip eggplant first into egg whites and then into bread crumb mixture. Bake eggplant on a nonstick cookie sheet until lightly browned, about 20 to 25 minutes, flipping once.
  • Place a layer of eggplant on bottom of prepared baking dish, then add 1/3 of tomato sauce and 1/3 of mozzarella cheese. Repeat with 2 more layers in same order. Bake until cheese is melted and sauce is bubbling, about 10 minutes more. Slice into 4 pieces and serve.

One thought on “EATure THREE: ww eggplant parmesan

  1. Wow Morgan that looks de-lish! I love to cook, I taught myself how to about 3 or 4 years ago and ever since it has been something I really like to do. Its just kind of relaxing, ya know? Anyway, at this point I’m constantly on the hunt for new recipes to try out and I think this one looks like a winner! I love your blog, maybe I’ll be Julie to your Julia, and attempt to make every recipe you’ve already trailblazed! I’ll keep you posted. xo

Leave a Reply

